1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. WooCommerce Members Only
  4. Set user role after purchasing a product
  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Roles
  4. Set user role after purchasing a product

Set user role after purchasing a product

You can automatically assign user roles to customers when they buy certain products. For example, if you are selling memberships to your site, you can create a ‘Gold Member’ product that assigns the ‘Gold Membership’ user role to anyone who purchases it.

For guidance on setting user roles after purchasing a product, take a look at this article.

Assigning roles on order completed

By default, the new role will be assigned to the user when their order status changes to ‘Processing’. This ensures that users don’t get their new roles too soon.

However, some orders might skip the ‘Processing’ status, e.g. orders containing downloadable products. In this case, you can set the status where roles are assigned to ‘Completed’.

To do this, go to WooCommerce > Settings > Members Only > Registration and choose ‘Order Completed’ from the ‘Assign Roles Order Status’ field.

WooCommerce assign roles order status

Was this article helpful?

Need More Support?

If you can't find the answer that you're looking for, then please use the link below to raise a support ticket.
Contact Support

Related Articles