1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. WooCommerce Members Only
  4. Getting Started
  5. How to define who can access your content
  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. WooCommerce Members Only
  4. How to define who can access your content

How to define who can access your content

To update your Members Onlys settings, go to WooCommerce > Settings > Members Only.

You can define membership in three different ways. The method you choose will depend on the type of private store that you’re running.

On the settings page, you’ll see an option called ‘Restriction Method’. The choices are:

  • Logged in users only – this is the most simple of the three options. Anyone who is logged into the site, whatever their user role, will be able to access the hidden content. Anyone who is not logged in will not be able to access the content. Simple.
  • Password protected – only slightly less simple than the logged-in option above, the password option allows you to password protect your WooCommerce store by creating one or more passwords. Users who have not entered a password will be locked out of the hidden content until they enter a password correctly. Having the ability to create more than one password allows you to set one global password or create multiple passwords, either unique to each individual or to groups.
  • User role – finally, the user-role option allows you the most fine-tuning of all methods. You can allow access to users according to their role so, for instance, only users with the ‘editor’ role can have access to your hidden store.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles